A FIDDLER FROM MEBANE

Some friends of ours, Larry Vellani & Peg Boswell of Mebanesville, and Al & Carol Engler, would host birthday parties for Joe Thompson. That’s where I met him. What a gentle, friendly soul. At the time he was enjoying a second round of celebrity, having been rediscovered by the Carolina Chocolate Drops who were interested in learning from Thompson about black string band music.

JoeThompson4w

Fiddlin’ Joe Thompson, Oil, 24 X 36, $500. 

There were many musicians that showed up at those parties and they were too photogenic to not want to paint. I did many paintings of several of them including, fiddler and banjo player Paul Mitchell, all three of the then Carolina Chocolate Drops, Lightnin’ Wells and Joe.  Those paintings are all sold, however, I kept this one in my studio. I am now ready to let it go. If you have an interest, email me. art at jude lobe . com.

Here’s an article about him when he died at the age of 93, that appeared in the New York Times.  CLICK